Resilience

Resilience

According to A. S. Masten and J. Obradović, “(r)esilience refers to the process of, capacity for, or outcome of successful adaptation despite challenging or threatening circumstances..” (http://bit.ly/1C6ON1v).

“Some of characteristics or dispositions of resilience include:

  • Bouncing Back
  • Managing Emotions
  • Awareness of Strengths and Assets
  • Passion-Driven Focus
  • Resourcefulness
  • Sense of Personal Agency
  • Ability to Reach Out to Others
  • Problem-Solving Skills”

(source: https://usergeneratededucation.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/resilience-the-other-21st-century-skills/)

I personally believe that “(f)amilies and individuals are (more often than not) resilient and have strengths and resources that can be leveraged / used in building positive courses of action, (and) solution(s) (in order to achieve) client change”. (Pleaase note that I admit that I have changed the phrasing of the aforementioned!!!!!!) I further believe that in order to honour both the individual and the process, all those invested in an individual’s life (including – although not limited to – friends, family, health professionals, teachers, etc.) must rally around the individual in crisis. They must work together with the “client” in order to identify the cause(s) of “dis-comfort” and/or “dis-ease”. They ought to spend as much – and yet as little – time as possible on the identification process, and then move forward ASAP. The “team” must move on, and say to one another, “& …. So now what? Where do we all go from here?” Furthermore, in order to fully be there for an individual, the parent(s), health professionals, friends, teachers, etc. must come together to identify not only the “client’s” needs but also their individual strengths. For these strengths, these talents, areas of resilience, assets, gifts, strong points, etc. are surely invaluable; they are assets/integral parts of the healing process. They provide authentic/believable/trustworthy hope, optimism, anticipation, courage, confidence,

Those seeking to aid an individual must truly understand them/the strengths, value them, and use them in order to address individual needs. They are points of leverage. Furthermore, I do not believe that it is appropriate or healthy to “build a therapeutic alliance without” this “team” & their recognition firmly place.

Please indulege me in a little bit of personal refelction, as a result of living with a sister who is bipolar, and teaching children who are on the spectrum, have anxiety disorders, depresssion, ADHD etc. . Please know, that it is from what I have seen and felt first hand that I come to you with this:
If I were ever a patient – and was “ready”- I would want to feel a part of the recovery process -a strong, significant part of that process. I imagine that once “I was” ready, I would want to truly know/believe that I have some sense of control, some sense of value both during and after the process. I would want to be heard and respected (wrong or right I would want to be respected … it is my body, my experience, my life). I would want those professionals who support me to not simply view me as a “patient/illness”, but rather as someone who is capable of being a part of he process. I would want them to help me to identify, recognize and mostly accept my strengths and those who have my best interests at heart. I would want them to know both professionally and personally that “I have undeniable strengths – that I am not “a complete failure” (my sister’s words) – and that one day I will be able to handle this on my own”. Surely, this must be integral any recovery process — an undeniable inner strength. (Having said that, I know that for my sister who is bio-polar, rational thought can be difficult, and impossible at times. While on the one hand she knows that we are there for her, on the other …. she has moments of anger, distrust, irrational though, and even at times a sense of betrayal.)

Were I in her shoes, I would want those around me to understand my strengths and use them in order to address/build upon to “correct” my needs. I would want them to recognize those around me – on my daily life – whom I feel connected to and trust; who understand me and can support me without judgment.

3.Is there evidence of resiliency-based practice in your workplace? Explain.

As a teacher, I see “evidence of resiliency based practice in (my) workplace” all the time. Please find several examples below:

  1. instruction with regard to physical health
  2. social emotional education by professionals (& teachers who have had P.D.). These sessions address: Identification of strengths & needs; Type of Learner; Stress Management techniques; Self-regulation techniques; Goal Setting; Understanding/Developing Resiliency; TRIBES; Second Steps; Perseverance;
  3. Family involvement: Constant communication; “No one knows your child as well as you do.”; Understanding & respect for family dynamics, traditions & dynamics.
  4. “social Groups” lead by social workers.
  5. Social Workers, Psychologists, Language Therapists, OTs on staff to support students, families and teachers/staff.
  6. I also witness first hand (at my school) (m)any of the things that support healthy development in young children also help build their resilience. These things include:
    a secure bond with a caring adult
    • relationships with positive role models
    • opportunities to learn skills
    • opportunities to participate in meaningful activities “ source: http://www.beststart.org/resources/hlthy_chld_dev/pdf/BSRC_Resilience_English_fnl.pdf

 

 

Helpful Sites (ultimately geared toward teachers such as myself):

Teaching Students the ABCs of Resilience
(approximately 21 “links to programs regarding student resilience and resources your can use in your teaching”
http://www.edutopia.org/blog/teaching-the-abcs-of-resilience-renee-jain

Resilience Guide for Parents & Children http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/resilience.aspx

Resilience and Grit: Resource Roundup

Explore a curated collection of videos, interviews, and articles from around the web for adults looking to build resilience and grit in young people.
http://www.edutopia.org/resilience-grit-resources

 

Resilience and Learning
http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership/sept13/vol71/num01/abstract.aspx

 

Resilience: The Other 21st Century Skill https://usergeneratededucation.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/resilience-the-other-21st-century-skills/

 

Is Resilience the Secret to Student Success?

http://www.wholechildeducation.org/podcast/is-resilience-the-secret-to-student-success

Educating the Heart: 6 Steps to Build Kindness & Resilience in Children (In this six-part video series)(Dalai Lama Center, 2012)
http://www.edutopia.org/resilience-grit-resources

 

“Building Resilience in Young Children”
http://www.beststart.org/resources/hlthy_chld_dev/pdf/BSRC_Resilience_English_fnl.pdf

The You Matter Manifesto
http://www.angelamaiers.com/2012/01/the-you-matter-manifesto.html

Bolstering Resilience in Students: Teachers as Protective Factors
https://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/literacynumeracy/inspire/research/WW_bolstering_students.pdf

CAMH: Growing Up Resilient: Ways to Build Resilience in Children and Youth
http://www.camh.ca/en/education/teachers_school_programs/resources_for_teachers_and_schools/growing_up_resilient_ways_to_build_resilience_in_children_and_youth/Pages/growing_up_resilient_ways_to_build_resilience_in_children_and_youth.aspx

Resilience for Teens: Got Bounce?
http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/bounce.aspx

Resilience for Parents & Teachers
http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/resilience.aspx

Leave a Reply

