Three Things My Students Will Never Say

Goal: Three Things That My Students Will Never Say

One:
“I can’t do this!”
This simple sentence that can block learning must immediately be replaced by:
“I can’t do this yet.”
I have found that the addition of this one simple word alleviates the pressure, anxiety and frustration that often blocks learning. This simple change helps to calm and refocus the leaner.

Two:
“I forget.”
This one simple sentence that can block learning must immediately be replaced by:
“Can you please come back to me?”
I explain to students that when they say that they “have forgotten” their brains stop working on the problem. If however, they stop actively searching and ask me to come back to them later their brains will keep working on “idea retrieval” unbeknownst to them. This is why they often remember what it is that they wanted to say 10 mins., or 2 hours later … or even in the middle of the night. (P.S. It works every time.)

Three:
“I’m bored.”
Okay, so I remind them that no one is going to be interested in everything that we do. They are expected however to plow through whatever it is that is asked of them, so that they can then move on successfully to the next activity.

… Just wanted to share.

Cheers,
Ally

2 responses to “Three Things My Students Will Never Say

  1. Instead of “I can’t do this yet,” how about, “I will be able to do this”?

  2. Thanks for the feedback Matt … and I agree that “I will be able to do this” is an ideal response. I have found however, that at the Grade 5 level my students take things literally and can be hard on themselves at times … they don’t always buy into that … they don’t necessarily buy into the whole “positive statement” thing …. They are often however, willing to accept that while they can’t do it “yet” (and accept that), they will be able to given “time” … the “yet” infers that with time they will achieve their goal …
    Anyway, such has been my experience.
    Cheers,
    Ally

Leave a Reply

