Initial Reading Assessments in the Classroom

Initial Reading Assessments in the Classroom

At the beginning of ever school year we spend a great deal of time getting to know our students … as they get to know one another, as well as their teachers and new surroundings!

It’s a balance of:

a) Learning from day 1(!)
b) Ice Breakers & Getting-to-Know-You-Activities
c) Establishing Routines, Expectations & Rules

d) Organizing our space, materials, day, etc. 
e) Carrying out both Formal & Informal Assessments
f) & so much more 😉

In thinking about September I sent a “Tweet Out” the other day looking for suggestions regarding reading assessments in the classroom.
I was looking for something authentic, practical, efficient and “free”.  I was looking for something just to use as a “springboard” … to help me get me feet wet …. because as we all know assessments (both informal and formal) are ongoing and organic.

I love Twitter & was fortunate enough to have received many responses. …  So now I want to share with you what some of my Tweeter Friends have shared with me (with a special thanks to @mitcheta3477 among others)!
(I would love to see any additional resources as well!)

& .. of course, if you are a fly on my classroom wall in September you will see me carrying out several initial assessments – including reading assessments.

Cheers,
Ally

For Your Consideration: Reading Assessments:

3 responses to “Initial Reading Assessments in the Classroom

  1. >You have some great resources here. Can't wait to explore them.

  2. >I like to use "The San Diego Quick Assessment" at the beginning of the first week. Gives me a quick take on what they know and helps me place them into temporary groups…plus it also helps me help them choose books for their "Read To Self" boxes.Thanks for the other shares! ♬Swamp Frog First Graders

Leave a Reply

